Nyck Grayson – April 10th, 2017

Over the next two weeks I’m going to be sharing with you some prospects that I think are being criminally underrated. Today we key in on a Cornerback from the Mountain West Conference Champion San Diego State Aztecs.

kazee.jpg

Name : Damontae Kazee

 

Height: 5’10

Weight: 184 lbs

Forty Yard Dash: 4.54

Credentials: Over the course of four years at SDSU, Kazee tallied in 240 total tackles (14.5 for loss), 29 PBUs, and 17 INTs (2 returned for TDs)

2x Mountain West Conference Player of the Year

Tied for 2nd in the country in ’16 with 7 Interceptions

 

Throughout the year if I told you that Donnel Pumphrey wasn’t the best NFL Prospect on his team you would’ve called me a liar right? I wouldn’t blame you, but when watching SDSU games in full you see an absolute stud on the right side of the field of the Aztec defense. Damontae Kazee has gone under the radar compared to the slew of Ohio State DBs that are projected to go high later this month. In my opinion, Kazee has the definitive best ball skills out of all of the Corners in this draft, his production backs up my take. Sweet feet and hips as fluid as they come, his transitions in/out of the back pedal are very solid while flipping his hips and breaking downhill. Kazee also plays with a fierceness against the run, flying to the ball and delivering blows that you wouldn’t expect from a 185 pound DB.

 

giphy (7).gif

Throughout this game against San Jose St in ’15 Kazee displayed plays like this all throughout the game. Flying to the football with reckless abandon and making sure tackles.

giphy (8).gif

Like I said earlier. Reckless. Abandon. Kazee is a maniac.

 

giphy (9).gif

giphy (10).gif

Production Personified –  In the biggest game of the season for the Aztecs Kazee picked Josh Allen off twice as he lead the SDSU defense to a 27-24 (’16) MWC Championship win over Wyoming.

 

I love Kazee on film, he seems to rise to the occasion when called upon to make plays. I believe his size, strength and speed pencils him as a Nickel CB. Only putting up 11 reps at the bench I think with an offseason in an NFL weight room he can develop his body more for the pro level physicality. Teams like Philadelphia, Green Bay, and Carolina come to mind when I think of teams that should consider him on Day 2 or Day 3

Comparison: Logan Ryan, Tennessee Titans

  

